Skip to content

A question (site related)

October 18, 2010

Does the sticky post confuse anyone? I stuck it at the top to give first time visitors an introduction to my site rather than throwing them into the first post, but if you don’t subscribe to this through a newsreader does it make you think I haven’t posted anything new?

If you ran across the blog for the first time would you rather have that post stuck at top explaining it or perhaps used as the about page instead?

I can’t decide which way I would rather have it be on another blog.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 3:03 pm

    Of course… Anyone who is confused by the sticky post I guess wouldn’t read this one…

  2. godlesspaladin permalink
    October 18, 2010 3:15 pm

    I personally don’t use sticky posts because I want people to see my latest post every time. I also have a prominent “about” tab up on the top of my blog. I could see how it might confuse some people, but I’m subscribed so I get an e-mail update every time you post something new.

    • October 18, 2010 3:37 pm

      In a regular blog I wouldn’t use a sticky post. But since this one has a specific purpose right now, to tell my story, I felt that it was good to give people the starting point. I may keep the sticky up there for a while then remove it and shift it into my “About” tab.

      The sticky may work better if I used the “more” feature on my posts, so that you would see the sticky and at least a couple of recent posts… I’ll have to think on this some more.

    • October 18, 2010 3:43 pm

      The more I think on it the more I think I don’t like the sticky. That was what prompted me to ask anyway… I think I’ll make a short sticky and move the current one to the “About” tab.

  3. October 18, 2010 3:58 pm

    Found a better option, my theme has an alert box! I’ll just use that for a quick pointer to my story.

Leave a Reply

