Skip to content

On a more serious note: Science!

November 6, 2010

This showed up on Pharyngula this week and I thought I’d share it with my readers, too.

One of the things I see Christians try to bring up with atheists is the question of how our lives have any hope or meaning apart from religion.  This video does a pretty good job of explaining my feelings on the matter, I hope you can understand it.  It is also just a really beautiful description of our galaxy.

“The Earth, and every living thing, are made of ‘star stuff’.”

— Carl Sagan

Speaking of, in case you haven’t seen it before, you should also watch this (the origin of the above quote):

6 Comments leave one →
  1. godlesspaladin permalink
    November 6, 2010 1:27 pm

    Those videos give me what others might call “a religious experience”.

  2. November 6, 2010 3:03 pm

    I’ve never put much stock into “religious experience” even when I was a Christian. I knew that they were just emotional high points. And that Sagan video has given me a rush of positive emotions since I first saw it a few years back.

  3. November 6, 2010 3:10 pm

    Also, I learned (after hearing the bit about the Romans calling it the “Via Lactea”) that our word “galaxy” comes from the Greek word for milk (by way of Latin).

    Origin of the word “Galaxy”.

  4. November 8, 2010 8:00 pm

    You know what gives me hope? The fact that girls sometimes send me pictures of their breasts, sometimes with stickers with my name on them covering their nipples.

    Maybe that’s dumb, but it makes me glad to be alive.

    • November 8, 2010 10:24 pm

      If my chest were not so covered in hair, creating a potentially very painful situation, I would send you pictures of my breasts with your stickers on them. However, in addition to it hurting very much to remove said stickers later, no one needs to see my manboobs.

      • November 8, 2010 10:26 pm

        Actually, they don’t hurt very much. And to be honest, no one needed to see my manboobs either. Email me your mailing address.

Leave a Reply

