Skip to content

“Reasons for Disbelief” (Repost)

April 4, 2011

Ran across a recent posting to Secular News Daily by Gordon Douglas:

“Reasons for disbelief: The top ten reasons I am an atheist”

(Excerpt)

Many people ask why someone like me, who came from a Christian home, went to a Christian high school and then went on to spend five years in seminary and become a pastor, a missionary, and an evangelist, would turn his back on the God he spent a lifetime worshiping and serving and give up all faith in the supernatural. The answer is very simple, and I’m about to give it. First, however, let me tell you what the reason is not.

Most people, upon hearing my story, all unanimously decide regardless of their own spiritual beliefs or religious affiliations that I must be mad at God. They tell me I just had the wrong religion, or that I just needed to try their particular name-brand. It’s the one thing religious people of all stripes can actually agree on, and it isn’t even true.

I did, in fact, have a rough time in religion. My formative years of trial and tribulation didn’t weaken my faith in the least. In fact, it was because of these troubles that I spent many nights on my knees praying that I might not be like “those other Christians,” and that God would show me the path to becoming his choice servant. It was because of this that I began to take my studies of the Judeo-Christian god very seriously, and it was this in-depth study and reflection that led to my current state of unbelief.

(Full Article)

He actually has eleven points in the article, not just ten, but they are all very close to my own views. And, of course, his story is in many ways similar to my own.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 2:29 am

    Thanks for sharing this! I believe it’s Gordon’s best yet. :)

Leave a Reply

