Skip to content

The Clergy Project

June 8, 2011

I got this from Debunking Christianity, who linked to Fallen From Grace.

Dan Barker, author of “Losing Faith in Faith: From Preacher to Atheist” and “Godless: How An Evangelical Preacher Became One of America’s Leading Atheists”, and co-president of the Freedom From Religion Foundation has started a forum for people like himself, myself and those mentioned in the Tufts study that sparked my realization that I am not alone as an atheist in the ministry. I’m pretty excited about this, and am looking forward to getting involved in the discussions there!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 9:12 pm

    Always good to meet like-minded people who understand your position. Good Blog, subscribed. :)

  2. Steve permalink
    August 3, 2011 12:41 pm

    God’s Spiritual Reason conflicts with Human’s Earthly Reason. Listen to God’s Spiritual Reason first before making any of your own Earthly choices. Pray about it.

    • August 12, 2011 4:26 am

      I do not believe in any god, so to whom would I pray?

      I spent many years of my life praying to the god of the bible and protestant Christianity. I prayed that he would reveal himself to me, I prayed that he would purify my life, I prayed that he would guide me to make the best choices. Those prayers were, largely, unanswered. (I’d say only the latter were “answered” and only some of those, and they were not answered by a deity controlling the universe but through my own ability to use logic, reason, and common sense to make choices about my life or morality. In fact, sometimes I was “guided” in the wrong direction by the “spirit”.)

      “God’s Spiritual Reason” didn’t do very much, it always led to more questions and I never received an answer to my prayers for revelation or purity. I sought god with all my heart, but I never found him. I now know that this is because the god I was seeking doesn’t actually exist.

      Thanks for stopping by, Steve, but I don’t think you really read my other posts, or you would know that I did pray about these things quite a lot leading up to my renouncement of the Christian faith and belief in any deity alltogether.

  3. Captainpabst permalink
    August 9, 2011 12:59 am

    It’s August! Time for an update! :P

  4. August 22, 2011 8:32 pm

    i’ve always been a lurker, but i’m coming out of lurking to agree with the previous commenter that you should definitely update again soon. your blog is one of my favourites, i can identify with you very much – i am also a grew-up-baptist, became-more-liberal-and-progressive, now-in-the-closet-getting-pretty-darn-close-to-atheist person, and it’s nice to know i’m not alone, that other people deal with the same things and think about the same things.

    • August 23, 2011 4:03 am

      Glad to know that people are reading :) I’ve been trying to think of a new post. Right now things in my life are pretty much just grinding along the same as they have been for a few months now so I haven’t had any new insights to post about.

      I’ll be TRYING to get at least a short post out by the end of the month, we shall see…

      Everyone keep on me about it and I’ll just have to make one to get you all to be quiet :D

  5. October 1, 2013 3:27 pm

    Reblogged this on The Progressive Democrat.

Leave a Reply

