Skip to content

The Secret Atheist on A Matter of Doubt

March 8, 2012

Yesterday I was interviewed for the A Matter of Doubt podcast that a couple of guys here in town run. It has been posted and you should go listen to our discussion!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2012 7:22 pm

    Listened to your podcast…..you are definitely on a journey of discovery!!
    Simply it is just sheer luck how and where we were born, unfortunately for you it was into a religious world construct.

    You will no doubt have many challenges, the greatest of which will be social acceptance particularly from your family circle? All I can say here, is to stick to your new found principles, don’t end up living a seemingly full life, but an empty one! Seeking approval from our peers is perfectly natural, but if people won’t even try to meet you halfway then you will have to ask yourself who’s life am I trying to live here?? Theirs or yours?

    Reason is the only true friend we have got! :)

    • March 16, 2012 2:06 am

      Yeah, family is my only worry now (aside from the obvious employment issue). My local friends almost all know now (even the one religious friend I’ve told), and some of my life-long friends I keep in touch with online know and accept me (if they aren’t, themselves, atheists), and I’ve made quite a few friends in the local freethought group (which is how I met the guys who run the A Matter of Doubt podcast!). My hope is that when I come out to them we can just put it behind us and agree to not really discuss it very much. Maybe one day I’ll be in the position that Dan Barker has found himself in, with his parents and a sibling becoming atheist, as well.

  2. March 19, 2012 10:27 pm

    I found you over at http://bittersweetend.wordpress.com/

    I enjoyed reading your story and I look forward to following your blog. If you’re interested in my deconversion story you can visit my blog at http://www.leftchristianity.com.

    • March 19, 2012 11:07 pm

      Hi Brenda, glad you found your way over to my blog! I’ll definitely check out your blog and look forward to having you in the conversation around here. :)

  3. April 29, 2012 9:25 pm

    I like the part where….knowing all that we know about god and the world, why would this deity who is control of everything, be deserving of our/my worship?

  4. Jomaré permalink
    June 24, 2012 7:09 am

    I acknowledged the possibility that i might be a agnostic theists and now I’m searching for more information and read the posts which gave me a little information . My father is a reverent and i was raised Christian but recently and all too sudden my mindset changed. Had doubts about my religion about three years ago when i thought to myself “why should i believe in something there aint proof of that it exists”… Thanx for enlightening me and sharing some of your knowledge

    • July 2, 2012 4:34 pm

      Glad I could help some (and sorry it took me a while to approve this, I’ve been somewhat absent from here for a few weeks). I find it somewhat aggravating when so many atheists claim that “no one can reasonably be a gnostic atheist” as they seem so ready to do these days. I think the problem is a definition of god. If you take the pantheistic view that god is nature and the universe and everything, then surely it is impossible to be a gnostic atheist. But I reject the idea of a theistic god. Perhaps there is some very powerful intelligence out there, and perhaps it created the universe in some way, but that wouldn’t make it a “god” to be worshiped. Maybe something to give credit for making everything, but it wouldn’t make it worthy of our unending devotion, love, and worship and unquestioning obedience.

      The atheists who claim it is logically impossible to be a gnostic atheist are usually those who weren’t raised in religion, or weren’t raised in the more conservative branches of Christianity, I think. Yes, I’ll admit, I’m agnostic to the idea of some universal consciousness that created everything around us. I’m quite gnostic to my unbelief of a personal god or any being that can be called a god and deserves worship.

Leave a Reply

