Skip to content

Atheist billboards!

November 22, 2011

The Columbia Coalition of Reason has signs on two electronic billboards in Columbia as of yesterday! Both are in high-traffic locations and will get a LOT of visibility during the upcoming USC-Clemson game. I’m a part of this group.

In fact, I’ll get to see one of them every time I come home from working at the church!

Columbia CoR electronic billboard

2 Comments leave one →
  1. alanwheeler permalink
    September 11, 2013 11:47 am

    I have been an atheist for over 30 years. However the worst thing about being an atheist is that there is no hope in an afterlife. That is why I created my own belief system that has current scientific knowledge as its basis but fills in the gaps that science cannot currently explain with religious answers. There is no deity and as science advances so will my beliefs. I would appreciate if you could check out my blog at
    bangism.wordpress.com

    • December 5, 2013 3:54 pm

      Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you on this, and to approve the comment. Been away from the blog for a while. I understand some folks having a hard time dealing with the lack of an afterlife, but it is not something I’ve really had an issue with. I take great comfort in knowing that I don’t have to worry about what happens after I die. My actions here will have very little consequence in the long run, and I don’t have to “get it right” in order to have a good existence after I die. My life ends when I die, and the memory of me will end in short order by comparison with the life of the universe. Some may find that frightening, I find it comforting.

Leave a comment